Background Information

Hawaiʻi is the only state in the United States that has designated a native language, Hawaiʻian, as one of its two official state languages. The Hawaiʻian language is currently written with 13 components: twelve letters from the Roman alphabet (a, e, i, o, u, k, h, l, m, n, p, w) plus the ʻokina, considered a letter, in which a backwards apostrophe indicates a glottal stop. Macrons are used over vowels to indicate long vowel sounds.

Ka Papahana Kaiapuni Hawaiʻi [Hawaiʻian Language Immersion Program] was established by the State of Hawaiʻi’s Department of Education in 1987 as a vehicle for revitalizing the Hawaiian language. As noted on their website, the Kaiapuni student achieves a high level of proficiency in comprehension and communication in the Hawaiʻian language, a strong foundation in Hawaiʻian culture and values, and a high level of self-esteem as perpetuators of the native language and of the cultural heritage of Hawaiʻi.

The U.S. Rosetta Project is proud to partner with parties interested in language survival, to present science, technology, engineering, and mathematical material from the project as a vehicle for discussion by students and interested observers, for the purpose of increasing the desire to learn and achieve in Hawaiʻian. The U.S. Rosetta project would like to promote an atmosphere of multi-culturalism, and cross-cultural appreciation.

Our Hawaiʻian section starts with a presentation of a science thesaurus – a dictionary of comet science terms, used by the project, in Hawaiʻian. Hawaiʻian students will be invited to participate in our Lutetia essay contest [to be unveiled soon].

To read more about the Ka Papahana Kaiapuni Hawaiʻi program, see the following URL: