Home

Thursday, September 18 - Sunday, October 5
A Model of the very real 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko (C-G) comet at the AxS Festival 2014 | Curiosity,

 

'J' Marks the Spot for Rosetta's Lander

The European Space Agency's Rosetta's lander, Philae, will target Site J, an intriguing region on comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko that offers unique scientific potential, with hints of activity nearby, and minimum risk to the lander compared to the other candidate sites.

Replay: Rosetta landing site announcement

At a press conference at ESA Headquarters on 14 September, the final selected target was announced, along with a backup.

Philae’s primary landing site

Rosetta’s lander Philae will target Site J, an intriguing region on Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko that offers unique scientific potential, with hints of activity nearby, and minimum risk to the lander compared to the other candidate sites.

Watch Rosetta landing site selection announcement

Watch live as the target for Rosetta's lander is announced at ESA Headquarters on 15 September, streaming starts at 0900 GMT / 1100 CEST  / 0200 PDT

Rosetta Infographic

  • IMAGES
  • VIDEOS